University of Chicago Pritzker School of Medicine

924 East 57th Street, Chicago, IL 60637

The Pritzker School of Medicine is the M.D. granting unit of the Biological Sciences Division of the University of Chicago. It is located on the University’s main campus in the Hyde Park neighborhood of Chicago. Its namesake stems from that of the Pritzker family of Chicago (founders of the Hyatt hotel group), whose philanthropy towards the University at large caused the School to be renamed in their honor in 1968. Ranked 12th among research universities for medical education by US News & World Report, the school is also noted for its strength by the same publication in AIDS research, women’s health and primary care. Notably, 20% of Pritzker students are involved in a combined degree program with another division on campus, such as the School of Social Service Administration or the Booth School of Business. The school’s primary teaching hospital is the University of Chicago Medical Center. Eleven individuals affiliated with Pritzker have gone on to win the Nobel Prize in the field of ‘Physiology or Medicine’. Students live in apartments in Hyde Park most of the time but also have many housing options north at apartments in the South Loop and Loop.